1980s Culture

Colin Vearncombe 1962-2016

I need a friend, oh I need a friend

Black’s 1987 hit single ‘Wonderful Life’ was the soundtrack to some mid 90s insurance advert that seemed to pop up in between every prime time slot. Its a shame really, but a song called ‘Wonderful Life’ was bound to be snapped up by some ad man. I hope it paid Colin’s mortgage though.

The irony is, well its ironic. The song is about loneliness and futility. Like insurance.

I have to be honest, I overlooked Colin Vearncombe and had him down as a bit of a one hit wonder. His death has now prompted me to take a closer listen.

RIP Colin Vearncombe, AKA Black.

colinv

 

Leave a Reply

